0 item $0
view cart | checkout

Board of Directors

Ian Neal, BCom, Dip Sec
Non-Executive Chairman - appointed 5 May 2014

Ian NealMr Neal, as a Non-Executive Chairman of Dyesol Limited takes executive responsibility for developing corporate strategy, overseeing business and strategic planning, commercialization projects and marketing programs.

In addition to his work with Dyesol, Mr Neal is a Chairman for The Executive Connection and works with CEOs and entrepreneurs to help them maximize the value of their businesses.

Mr Neal was a co–founder and Managing Director of Nanyang Ventures Pty Ltd, which had a total of $140 million under management, invested in 27 companies across a range of industries from high technology to advanced manufacturing. Companies backed by Nanyang ranged from start up to $50 million in revenue.

Mr Neal has a strong background in financial markets, moving up the ranks from equities analyst through various executive banking positions until establishing Nanyang Ventures in 1993 with his partners.

Mr Neal is a Life Member of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia and is a past National President of the former Securities Institute.  Ian holds a Bachelor of Commerce with Merit from the University of NSW (double major in Business Finance and Accountancy) and a Diploma from the Securities Institute of Australia.

Up until Ian's appointment as Non-Executive Chairman, he held the position of Non-Executive Director with Dyesol. A position he was appointed to in September 2006.


Richard Caldwell, BEc LLB S Fin
Managing Director - appointed 5 May 2014

Richard CaldwellMr. Richard Caldwell, as Managing Director, Dyesol Limited, takes the executive responsibility for finance, mergers and acquisitions, investor relations, capital raising and also assists with substantial contract negotiations. He also chairs the Executive Committee.

Richard has a strong background in advising many successful high-tech Australian companies and assisting with public listing – particularly in the technology, biotechnology, and telecommunications sectors.  He also brings considerable experience in the oil and gas, resources, and infrastructure sectors.

Before joining Dyesol, Richard had a twenty-five year career in securities trading and investment banking.  He was Head of Corporate Finance and Equity Capital Markets at StoneBridge, Head of Equity and Capital Markets at Burdett Buckeridge and Young, and held a number of senior management positions at Citibank in Sydney and JP Morgan in London.

Richard holds a Bachelor of Laws and a Bachelor of Economics from Sydney University. He also has a Post Graduate Diploma in Finance from Finsia. For a number of years he was responsible for teaching the Equity Capital Markets stream in the Masters of Finance at Macquarie University. Recently he was appointed as chairman of the Ascham School Foundation.

Prior to being appointed Managing Director, Richard held the dual position of CEO and Executive Chairman from 20 October 2009 to 5 May 2014.


Gordon Thompson, BE(hons), M.EngSc, FIE (Aust)
Non-Executive Director - appointed 4 November 2004

Gordon ThompsonGordon is a Non-Executive Director of Dyesol Limited Australia’s leading dye sensitized solar cell company, and has a particular focus on technology commercialisation and industry relationships. He was part of the team that created Dyesol as an ASX listed entity.
Gordon has an extensive background and experience in renewable energy and water resources sectors and international business development.  He was the founding Managing Director of the United Nations sponsored International Centre for the Application of Solar Energy and was the founding Chairman of the Sustainable Energy Industry Association of Australia.
Gordon holds a Masters of Engineering Science from Monash University, is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers Australia, a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and completed the advanced management program of the now Melbourne Business College (Mt Eliza).


 Dr Robert (Rob) McIntyre, Ph.D in Fundamental Surface Electrochemistry

Non-Executive Director - appointed 13 March 2015

Rob McIntyre

Dr McIntyre has a Ph.D in Fundamental Surface Electrochemistry which he obtained from the University of Newcastle-Upon-Tyne.

He was then awarded a Max Planck Fellowship to Study under Professor Heinz Gerischer, Director of the Fritz-Haber Institute. He worked there as a group leader for 5 years on fundamental surface chemistry of semi-conductors and metals and for that work he was awarded the Tajima Prize for Electrochemistry, awarded annually by the International Society of Electrochemistry. He has since held management positions at Courtaulds Chemicals, now AKZO, ICI, Tioxide, now Huntsman, and most recently, Cristal Global, formerly Millennium Chemicals.

Dr McIntyre has been a Director of Stainless Steel International (UK), Millennium Chemicals (UK), Cristal UK, and many other Cristal companies for the past 10 years. He has a wide range of publications and patents and in the last 15 years has directed teams which have been responsible for the scale-up of many of Cristal’s major pigments and specialty products